main slider main slider

IGS & ABMS

2021 Indian-Brazilian Webinar

Jun 16, 2021
9:00am in Brazil and 04:30pm India

IGS & ABMS

2021 Indian-Brazilian Webinar

Jun 16, 2021
9:00am in Brazil and 04:30pm India

About Event

India and Brazil share a close relationship in different areas and have convergence of views on many global issues. The two countries cooperate not only bilaterally but also at plurilateral fora such as BRICS, IBSA, G-20 and in multilateral bodies such as the UN and WTO, among others. India-Brazil relations were elevated to a Strategic Partnership in 2006, and the discussions in the area of Science and Technology have also received boost in the recent years. In order to facilitate discussions between the Geoscientists and Geotechnical communities in both the countries, this international seminar is arranged. This webinar is being jointly organized by respective geotechnical societies viz, IGS (Indian Geotechnical Society) and ABMS (Associação Brasileira de Mecânica dos Solos e Engenharia Geotécnica).

Detail Event

1st Day

Infrastructure challenges in India in the XXI century, Prof. T. G. Sitharam, IITG

2nd Day

Foundations: theory and practice, Prof. Deepankar Choudhury, IITB

3rd Day

Rock Engineering Prof. Mahendra Singh, IITR

  • 16th to 18th June 2021
  • 10+ Speaker

Schedule

  • 9:00 (Brazil) / 16:30 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Opening Session

Speaker: Prof.N.K Samadhiya (IGS President); Prof. Fernando Schnaid (ABMS President)

  • 9:10 (Brazil) / 16:40 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Infrastructure challenges in India in the XXI century

Speaker: Prof. T. G. Sitharam (IITG)

  • 9:50 (Brazil) 17:20 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Infrastructure challenges in Brazil in the XXI century

Speaker: Eng. F. Leyser Gonçalves (AG)

  • 10:30 (Brazil) 18:00 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Discussion (chaired by IGS)

  • 10:45 (Brazil) 18:15 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Intermission

  • 10:50 (Brazil) 18:20 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Water and tailings dams

Speaker: Dr. R. Chitra (CSMRS)

  • 11:30 (Brazil) 19:00 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Tailings Dam Failures in Brazil: Chronology, Major Implications and the Future of Tailings Disposal

Speaker: Eng. Paulo Franca (F&Z)

  • 12:10 (Brazil) 19:40 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Discussion (chaired by ABMS)

  • 12:25 (Brazil) 19:55 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Closure

  • 9:00 (Brazil) / 16:30 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Opening Session

Speaker: Prof. J.T. Shahu (IITD); Prof. Luiz Guilherme de Mello (USP & Vecttor Eng.)

  • 9:10 (Brazil) / 16:40 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Foundations: theory and practice

Speaker: Prof. Deepankar Choudhury (IITB)

  • 9:50 (Brazil) 17:20 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Foundations - Pile load tests: methods, interpretation and use in the quality control of a piling work

Speaker: Prof. F. R. Lopes (UFRJ) & Prof. P. E. L. Santa Maria (UFRJ)

  • 10:30 (Brazil) 18:00 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Discussion (chaired by IGS)

  • 10:45 (Brazil) 18:15 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Intermission

  • 10:50 (Brazil) 18:20 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Soft soils to ground improvement

Speaker: Prof. K. Rajagopal (IITM)

  • 11:30 (Brazil) 19:00 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Ground Improvement applied to problematic soils

Speaker: Prof. Nilo C. Consoli (UFRGS)

  • 12:10 (Brazil) 19:40 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Discussion (chaired by ABMS)

  • 12:25 (Brazil) 19:55 (India)
  • 17.jun.2021

Closure

  • 9:00 (Brazil) / 16:30 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Opening Session

Speaker: : Dr. Neelima Satyam (IITI); Mr. A. Negro Jr. (ABMS ex-president)

  • 9:10 (Brazil) / 16:40 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Rock Engineering

Speaker: Prof. Mahendra Singh (IITR)

  • 9:50 (Brazil) 17:20 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Acoustic Emission for Rock Fracturing

Speaker: Prof. Tarcisio B. Celestino (USP/Themag)

  • 10:30 (Brazil) 18:00 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Discussion (chaired by IGS)

  • 10:45 (Brazil) 18:15 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Intermission

  • 10:50 (Brazil) 18:20 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Geoenvironmental Engineering

Speaker: Prof. D.N. Singh (IITB)

  • 11:30 (Brazil) 19:00 (India)
  • 16.jun.2021

Geosynthetics and Alternative Materials for Sustainable Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Solutions

Speaker: Prof. Ennio M. Palmeira (UnB)

  • 12:10 (Brazil) 19:40 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Discussion (chaired by ABMS)

  • 12:25 (Brazil) 19:55 (India)
  • 18.jun.2021

Closure

Speakers

Dr. R. Chitra

Director, Central Soil and Materials Research Station

Prof. Deepankar Choudhury

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Prof. D. N. Singh

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Prof. Fernando Schnaid

ABMS President

Dr. Jagdish Telangrao Shahu

Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

Prof. K. Rajagopal

Indian Institute of Technology Madras

Prof. Narendra Kumar Samadhiya

IGS President

Drª Neelima Satyam

Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

Prof. T.G. Sitharam

Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Prof. Mahendra Singh

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee